. . .

What is Joomla!?

Based on the free scripting language, PHP, and the MySQL database, which is also free, Joomla! is a content management system published under the GNU GPL (General Public License) and freely available for automated website management.

In 2005 Joomla! emerged from the open source project Mambo. After Miro established the Mambo Foundation without involving the community and developers and rumors surfaced that Mambo would become commercialized, the team of developers decided to opt for a stand-alone and independent development branch. This allowed them to protect and further develop the large free developercommunity. It must be emphasized that the remarkable success of the CMS is based precisely on this large and independent community.

As Miro owns the rights to the "Mambo" brand, the community looked for and found a new name and trademark in the scope of a public competition. Joomla is a transcription of the Swahili word "Jumla", which basically means "the whole". The idea behind this is to place the emphasis on the community of developers inparticular. The interlocking elements icon used by the project underlines this connotation.

The CMS development that continued under the Joomla! name is increasingly growing apart from the Mambo Foundation, which is controlled by Miro and continues to publish Mambo free of charge.

Go to the Joomla! project homepage at http://joomla.org/

Go to the Mambo project homepage at http://source.mambo-foundation.org/
  • mediaho slideshow
  • mediaho slideshow
  • mediaho slideshow
  • mediaho slideshow
  • mediaho slideshow
  • mediaho slideshow
  • mediaho slideshow
  • mediaho slideshow
  • mediahof slideshow
  • mediahof slideshow
  • mediahof slideshow
  • mediahof slideshow
  • mediahof slideshow
  • mediahof slideshow
  • mediahof slideshow
  • mediahof slideshow
  • mediahof slideshow
  • mediahof slideshow
  • mediahof slideshow
  • mediahof slideshow
  • mediahof slideshow
  • mediahof slideshow
  • mediahof slideshow
  • mediahof slideshow
  • mediahof slideshow
  • mediahof slideshow
  • mediahof slideshow
  • mediahof slideshow
  • mediahof slideshow
  • mediahof slideshow
  • mediahof slideshow
  • mediahof slideshow

. . .

Was ist Joomla!?

Basierend auf der freien Skriptsprache PHP und der ebenfalls freien Datenbank MySQL ist Joomla! ein unter der GNU GPL (General Public Licens) veröffentlichtes und kostenlos erhältliches Content Management System für die automatisierte Verwaltung von Websites.

2005 ist Joomla! aus dem Open Source-Projekt Mambo hervorgegangen. Nachdem die Firma Miro die Mambo Foundation ohne Einbeziehung der Community und Entwickler gegründet hat und es Gerüchte gab, Mambo zu kommerzialisieren, hat sich das Entwicklerteam für einen eigenständigen und unabhängigen Entwicklungszweig entschieden. So konnte die bereits existierende breite und freie Entwickler-Gemeinschaft (Community) geschützt und weiterhin gepflegt werden. Es ist zu betonen, dass der besondere Erfolg des CMS auf eben dieser breiten und unabhängigen Community basiert.

Da Miro die Rechte an der Marke "Mambo" besitzt, wurde innerhalb eines öffentlichen Contests ein neuer Name und Markenzeichen gesucht und gefunden. Joomla ist die Lautumschreibung aus der Suaheli-Sprache des Wortes "Jumla", welches im Wesentlichen "das Ganze" bedeutet. Hiermit soll insbesondere eine Betonung auf die Entwickler-Gemeinschaft (Community) gesetzt werden. Das verwendete Bildsymbol sich ineinander verschränkender Elemente unterstreicht diesen Zusammenhang.

Die unter dem Namen Joomla! weitergeführte CMS-Entwicklung setzt sich zunehmend von der durch Miro kontollierten Mambo Foundation ab, welche weiterhin Mambo entwickelt und ebenfalls kostenfrei veröffentlicht.

Zur Joomla!-Projektseite auf http://joomla.org/

Zur Mambo-Projektseite auf http://source.mambo-foundation.org/
  • mediaho slideshow
  • mediaho slideshow
  • mediaho slideshow
  • mediaho slideshow
  • mediaho slideshow
  • mediaho slideshow
  • mediaho slideshow
  • mediaho slideshow
  • mediahof slideshow
  • mediahof slideshow
  • mediahof slideshow
  • mediahof slideshow
  • mediahof slideshow
  • mediahof slideshow
  • mediahof slideshow
  • mediahof slideshow
  • mediahof slideshow
  • mediahof slideshow
  • mediahof slideshow
  • mediahof slideshow
  • mediahof slideshow
  • mediahof slideshow
  • mediahof slideshow
  • mediahof slideshow
  • mediahof slideshow
  • mediahof slideshow
  • mediahof slideshow
  • mediahof slideshow
  • mediahof slideshow
  • mediahof slideshow
  • mediahof slideshow
  • mediahof slideshow